Isn’t it funny how sometimes we get something totally different than we expected? Sometimes those situations are blissful, sometimes they are just unexpected, but not really joyous or terrible, and sometimes it feels like someone is playing a cruel trick on us.
That’s when you often hear the phrase “I didn’t sign up for this!”. When someone utters those words, it is a clear sign that they feel overwhelmed, flustered, or even victimized. That their predicament is unfair, etc.
It may mean accepting a position [volunteer or otherwise] and realizing that the responsibilities are more numerous or time consuming than expected.
It may mean joining a club to find that new members are somewhat bullied.
It may mean auditioning for a play and being ridiculed by the audition panel.
It may mean making a new friend and finding that they have a special talent for causing arguments, awkwardness, stealing boyfriends, and just creating drama.
It can also mean making a new friend and realizing that they have secrets, issues, problems, or some other ailment in their life that requires a lot of support and understanding…more than you think you are capable of.
But “I didn’t sign up for this!” is one of the most selfish things we can say. That’s not to imply that I have never felt that way. I most certainly have. And it’s completely understandable for about 30 seconds. After that, maybe a better way to express your feelings would be “I wasn’t aware that this was the situation I was getting into, but now that I’m here I’m going to do my best to (circle one) rise to the challenge, be strong, prove them wrong, get thru the drama, be a great friend, etc.“. And chances are that you already have the tools to accomplish that, and if you don’t, you’re bound to learn and grow as a person throughout the experience.
I feel that God throws us these unexpected challenges on purpose. You could argue that “tricking” us into situations that aren’t what we “signed up” for is wrong of Him, but he is a Father, after all. A Parent. And, in my experience, parents do things like this sometimes, to show us that we have what it takes to make it through a tough time. They do it so we can learn to push ourselves. So I feel that He is just doing His job. And He does it out of love. I don’t think He would put a roadblock in our path if He didn’t think we could get past it.
So next time you’re thinking “I didn’t sign up for this!”, take those 30 seconds to feel the defeat, the exhaustion, the self-pity, whatever you need to feel. Then snap out of it and choose to make the best out of the situation. Choose to make it a growing/learning experience. You’ll make it. I know you will.

2 thoughts on “"I didn’t sign up for this!"

  1. Wow, I never would have thought that a child I gave birth to would have the exact words of wisdom I needed to hear at the exact time I needed to hear them. I am truly blessed by this message and awed by the maturity of it’s author.

Leave a Reply

