Do you remember how you developed a love of reading?
My mom used to take the daycare kids and I to the library all the time back in the day.  And if my memory serves me correctly, I was a pretty good reader compared to other kids, so that probably helped.  I’ve just always liked reading, and being able to lose myself in a whole different world.  Even when the books took place in the world that we know, it was someone elses life.  And chances are there was a special element that wasn’t a part of the real world.  Also, being an only child, sometimes those characters were my friends.

What are some books you loved as a child?
The Wizard of Oz series, I loved the idea of a normal girl going off to a Fairyland and meeting strange and fascinating people.  I also loved the Anne of Green Gable series, the American Girl books…  I’m sure there are more, but I can’t remember. 

What is your favorite genre?
Pretty much fiction.  I like chick-lit, and fantasy fiction, but I really love historical fiction.

Do you have a favorite novel?
The Wicked series, the Harry Potter series, pretty much anything by Gregory Maguire, Life Expectancy, Hounds of the Morrigan, among others.

Where do you usually read?
Waiting rooms, airports, bundled up on the bed (or the sofa if it’s quiet enough in the room), the car (when I’m not driving)

When do you usually read?
Basically whenever I have to wait for something or someone.

Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?
Yes.

Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?
I hardly read nonfiction anymore, which is sad (note to self: read more nonfiction), but when I do, I read it like I would any other book.

Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out from the library?
Uhm, it’s about 50/50 with borrowing and buying.  Borrowing includes borrowing them from the library.

Do you keep most of the books you buy?
Yea.

If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them?
I don’t have children, but there are definitely books I have in mind for them.  Sadly, they are in a box somewhere, and I don’t know what they are called anymore.

What are you reading now?
The Host by Stephanie Meyer.

Do you keep a To Be Read List?
Yessir.

What’s next?
Uhm, I guess I’m gonna try to reread Son of a Witch, since I can’t remember all that happens (I’ve only read it once, and that was ages ago).

Favorite book to read over and over?
Wicked and the Harry Potter Series.

2 thoughts on “books are your special friends.

  1. yay Gregory McGuire!!!
    i preferred Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister to Wicked, but they’re all great.

    oh, and The Host is awesome. everyone harps on about the Twilight series, but i definitely thought The Host was better 🙂

  2. i haven’t read the host yet 😦 i really want to, but i want my own copy of it, and with virtually no money i have to wait till someone is so generous to get it for me for christmas or birthday.

    and i LOVE gregory mcguire, i’ve read all of his books (with the exception of the third one in the wicked series, once again have to wait for someone to get it for me) but they are all awesome, i can’t decide which is my favorite, but the wicked series is definitely up there

Leave a Reply

