Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West is Gregory Maguire‘s first book. I know I’m about 10 years late on this [it was published in 1998, and was adapted into a blockbuster musical in 2003] but I first read this in 2002 sometime and have read it at least 20 times since. Call me obsessed, I don’t care. It’s that good. I’ve already professed my love for this book to many of my peers, and if you saw my copy of this book you would see that it was well-loved. Wicked is just what the title states, and it is a beautiful re-imagining of a grown up Oz. It brings up issues of moral ambiguity, love and lust, faith and religion, science, discrimination, and politics. The novel highlights the birth and early childhood of Elphaba Thropp [aka: The Wicked Witch] as well as her college years and adult life. We also learn more about familiar characters such as the shriveled socks we know as the Wicked Witch of the East, the Wonderful Wizard of Oz, and Dorothy and her familiar friends. As a bit of a warning, most people I know either loved this book or couldn’t even get through it. I encourage you to try though. When I first started reading it I was a little put off. It doesn’t sugar coat anything, and it’s definitely not a kid’s book. It will knock all pre-conceived notions of Oz right out of your head.
I give this book 10 out of 10, and I’m sure that’s the only time I will ever do so, cept for maybe the Bible.
PS: Maguire also wrote two sequels to Wicked, which I will be reviewing in the next two months. I actually already wrote the review for the most recent book of the series, but I figured I should review them in order.
PPS: Did anyone catch the reference to the musical? =]

2 thoughts on “Book Review Monday: Wicked

  1. i love wicked, it is an amazing book and it is one of those stories that will make you think, definitely a 10 out of 10, and yes i got your reference to the musical, awesome music as well.

  2. No one mourns the Wicked…. Ah Elphaba. ever the the misunderstood green girl. LOVE the musical (it’s one of my missions in life to preach its music). the book… not so much. it was too grim for my taste, though i found a lot of great quotes in it. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister was awesome, though.

    i like that you have a book you read over and over, the pages worn and well loved. it’s a good image

Leave a Reply

