I love my mom.  With all my heart. (Here come’s the “but”)

But…
Sometimes I wish she wouldn’t tell me things.  I appreciate that she realizes I’m grown enough to hear about issues between her and my father.  I’m glad that she considers my opinion important.  I just don’t want to hear her little remarks sometimes.  I don’t know if she’s trying to be funny or what, but I don’t like hearing things like “Yea, we got in big divorce-inducing argument…” (I can’t remember exactly what she said but it was along those lines).  All she had to say is that they got in a fight about something.  The divorce-related adjectives really are not necessary.

And that’s not all.  She has been talking about divorce-related things a LOT lately.  Maybe I’m just imagnining it, but she used almost look down on couples who got divorced (generally speaking) and now she just kinda shrugs it off.  We were talking about Oma and Opa the other day and about how they could not stand each other, but they were too old to bother getting a divorce.  And then my mom said some strange things about how you’re never too old to get a divorce or something.  It’s just weird.  And she says it so matter-of-factly.

I dunno.  I know that they feel differently about our current situation.  I know my dad is ridiculously obsessed with getting back into a house.  I know that’s like..a man thing.  And I know my mom is fine and dandy in the apartments and doesn’t really want a house until they can afford to get one where they want to “settle down” and stuff.  Which, btw, is northern California.  So she doesn’t want to bother with a house right now.  Even then, she would be fine with a condo or townhouse or something.  So I get that there are going to be issues with that.  And I get that she is extremely frustrated with my dad.  So am I.  But I just don’t feel like her remarks about divorce should really included in conversations between the two of us.  It just makes me uncomfortable, and I never know what to say.  It’s awkward, to say the least.

One thought on “sometimes I wish we weren’t so close

Leave a Reply

