Did anyone ever read Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs as a kid?

I sure did.  In fact, I have it right here on my lap as I type this.  (I had to read it once again, just to be sure it’s as awesome as I remember.  Guess what.  It is.)

Well this evening my mom and I went to see Monsters Vs. Aliens (which was pretty okay for a kids movie that wasn’t Disney) and I saw a poster in the lobby of the theatre for a movie version.  The first thing I noticed that the character portrayed in the poster was NOT a grandpa in any way shape or form.  I was livid.  We then proceeded to enter the theatre and find seats.  The previews began… and there it was… a Star Trek preview (WHICH WAS AWESOME) and then after that… A preview for Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs.  That movie has taken one of my most precious childhood memories and SOILED IT.  I refuse to see it, and no child of mine is ever going to see it (because by the time they’re born that movie will be long gone but still) and they are going to read that book obsessively because something in this world has to make sense.  And I am so heartbroken to learn that Andy Samberg is going to be a part of this film.  So much so that I am going to remove myself from his fan page on Facebook.  OK probably not but I am upset.

After that preview was the preview for Where the Wild Things Are (preposition!) which looked really amazing.  So that made me feel a bit better.

The actual movie we were seeing (again, Monsters Vs. Aliens) was pretty cute.  There were some very clever moments and other moments where they were trying too hard.  All in all, good.

Leave a Reply

