“You need to start wearing contacts again, you’re so pretty without your glasses.”

I haven’t heard that in a long time, but I did today.  A couple hours ago, in fact.  Personally, I think that’s bullshit.  I mean, thanks for the semi-compliment, sure, but I think if someone is good looking they are good looking regardless of whether or not they are wearing glasses.  And some people look really good in glasses, gosh darnit.  Now, not to sound cocky, but I think I am one of those people.  I feel naked without my glasses.  For now anyway.  (I go through phases.  I go months without contacts and then for a few months I wear them every day.)  So I can’t help but get a little offended when people say something like that to me.  Offended and annoyed.

So…calling all four eyes!  Wear those glasses and be proud of your vision impairment!  Be proud of your super cool accessory!  If you’ve switched to contacts, ditch those contacts! If you believe in this cause but have no need for glasses, don’t fret!  You can by non-perscription glasses at a variety of places (Claire’s and The Icing are more common vendors) for pretty cheap.  We are going to make glasses into the newest indicator of beauty.

One thought on “BEDA: glasses = ugly?

Leave a Reply

