Today’s soundtrack:
If I Only Had a Brain Harry Connick, Jr.
Mr. Blue Sky Electric Light Orchestra
Do I Love You Because You’re Beautiful? from Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella
This is Your Life The Killers
Dreamin’ Weezer
I’ll Make a Man Out of You from Mulan

So, like the horrible excuse for a nerdfighter I am, I finally finished reading Paper Towns [by John Green] yesterday.  For those of y’all who aren’t hip to the jive that is vlogbrothers, John Green and his brother Hank Green started a channel on youtube called Brotherhood 2.0.  Originally they were using it for a year as a means of communication, and they got a lot of subscribers..and, well, the rest is history.  Not really tho, but that’s what the links are for.  Anyway, John is an author (as you may have guessed by now) and he wrote this book Paper Towns and everyone was going crazy about it.  I wasn’t, really, but I did want to read it at some point.  So I did.

Paper Towns is about a young man about to graduate high school.  His name is Quentin.  He lives next door to a vivacious and rebellious young lady named Margo Roth Spiegelman.  One night she appears in his bedroom window to charter his minivan for a night he’ll never forget.  The next day, she isn’t at school.  Nor the next.  One night Quentin discovers that Margo has left him a trail of clues.  Thus, the mystery, and adventure, begins.

I didn’t like this book initially.  It seemed slow-starting to me.  Then right when it started gearing up, the story reverted back into slowness up until the last couple chapters.  That being said, it was a fairly interesting read and I did end up becoming invested in the characters.  The book was pretty easy to get through, too.  I could have read it in a day, but it wasn’t enough of a page-turner to get me to Drop Everything And Read.  (Did anyone else have DEAR at their elementary school?)

I give Paper Towns a 7 out of 10.

I hope I don’t suffer too much backlash for this.

One thought on “BEDA: [Books to Devour] Paper Towns

  1. Phew, I was worried you were going to spoil the ending of PT for me. I just started reading it last week.

    But being the kind and considerate nerdfighter that you are, you didn’t and I thank you!

    Great music choices BTW! I love me some ELO and Weezer!

Leave a Reply

