Today’s soundtrack [froomie edition!]:
I’ll Make a Man Out of You from Mulan
Come On Eileen Dexy’s Midnight Runners
Jessie’s Girl Rick Springfield
Stayin’ Alive The Bee Gees
Stand Out from A Goofy Movie

I’m cheating.  This post is being written on Saturday, and chances are tomorrow’s post was also written early.  But I have a good excuse, I promise.  I am currently in San Diego visiting my Froomie, Allison.  What’s a Froomie, you ask?  Well it’s a person that you live with, and are also friends with.  Friend + roomie = froomie.  It’s dorky.  We know.  You don’t need to remind us of this.  Allison and I have a blog that we share where we post things that we either think the other person will like, or share our froomie adventures, or sometimes even our IM conversations…which are amusing to us if no one else.

Here’s the thing: I left school.  We lived together for 3 semesters and then I had to leave.  So while she’s in Norcal, I’m here in Socal missing her.  It’s very sad going from seeing each other practically 24/7 to not at all for four months.  But her sister and grandparents live in San Diego…which is within driving distance for me.  Also, it’s her spring break this week.  Do you see where I’m going with this?

So today on this glorious Monday I am visiting her and spending the night.  It shall be a day of fabulosity.  And also hilarity.  And musicality.  And stuff.  The song’s I listed in the soundtrack are songs that we will probably either listen to in the car or randomly sing from time to time.  Except for Stayin’ Alive.  Stayin’ Alive is listed because one time we were in the car and it came on the radio and we started dancing in a way that looked like we choreographed and rehearsed it a bunch of times, which we did not.  I almost listed The Candy Man from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory for a similarly ridiculous and random reason.  One night during our first year at SSU, probably our first semester (right Allison? correct me if I’m wrong) when we lived in the same bedroom, (the next year we had separate sleeping areas but shared a kitchen and living room), we were both laying in bed with the lights out, attempting sleep.  I was facing away from Allison kinda staring at the wall, when all of a sudden Allison hums the first line of The Candy Man.  So, naturally, I sang “…sprinkle it with dew…” and we started giggling.

Allison and I didn’t know each other before we attended Sonoma State University.  We just lucked out and ended up living with each other.  The rest, as they say, is history.  (I’ve been using that phrase a lot lately.  I need to stop.)

Anyway, that is why this is a scheduled post.  I am too busy to blog.  I am too busy having an awesome time with my Best Froomie Forever.

[Also, best birfday wishes to my old friend Jakstis!  He’s turning 20 today…and continues to be older than me.  Bastard. ]

One thought on “BEDA: the froomies

  1. Tooootally called the froomie thing. That is, where it comes from. The friend + roomie thing.

    Speaking of froomies, my dad’s college roommate (I guess they’d be considered froomies) was in Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory. He was the kid with the glasses in Charlie’s class at school. Yup.

    I love being noticeably older than my friends for a bit. At least, for the few who I am older than. I don’t like having a late birthday compared to everyone else. But for a few glorious weeks/months I can say, “I’m 18 and you’re 17! I’m legal! I can now LEGALLY do all of the stuff you’ve been doing forever because your significant other is 20!” I can’t wait to turn 21 and say, “Hey I can now legally drink…oh wait you’ve all been doing that anyway since you were 14, damn, I feel no sense of accomplishment whatsoever.”

Leave a Reply

