You may or may not have noticed that I have discontinued the daily soundtrack.  I originally ditched it for time purposes, and then just never picked it up again… Partly due to the fact that I go through phases where I listen to the same few songs over and over again.  So whats the point in listing those same songs every day for two weeks, right?

Well I was browsing Soul Pancake looking for ideas to steal inspiration, and there was a challenge to create the soundtrack for the past year of your life.  I thought it was a fitting challenge, considering the fact that I’ve been more reflective/nostalgic than usual lately, and it will make up for the lack of soundtrack postings lately..and in the future.

Soundtrack for April 28th, 2008 – April 28, 2009:

Why Do I Keep Counting? The Killers
Romeo and Juliet The Killers
Who Let You Go? The Killers
Show Me What I’m Looking For Carolina Liar
Where’d You Go Fort Minor
Gives You Hell The All-American Rejects
American Boy Estelle ft. Kanye West
Bleeding Love Leona Lewis
Sneaker Night Vanessa Hudgens
Damaged Danity Kane
Defying Gravity from Wicked
i thank You God e. e. cummings arr. Gwyneth Walker
Put On Your Sunday Clothes from Hello, Dolly!
Fame from Fame
My Life Would Suck Without You Kelly Clarkson
Pork and Beans Weezer
Moments in the Woods from Into the Woods
Single Ladies Sasha Fierce
Move On from Sunday in the Park With George

Now I’m supposed to explain this.  Well the first few songs remind me of my trip to Washington for Opa’s funeral and the weeks afterward.  First off, I listened to nothing but The Killers during all my bus and plane time.  And I was just…thinking a lot during those days.  Dealing with a death, etc.  And I think Jke’s emails around that time were getting complicated, AND things with Ryan were weird.  So those first 6 songs are all pretty much April/May of last year.

The next five represent the summer JAMZ!  Those songs are some of the ones that come to mind when I think about all the random driving around that James, Markis, and I did last summer.

And the rest can kinda sum up everything between summer and now.  I tried to think of some “breakup songs” that reminded me of Jer or something, but none really do, so there isn’t really anything to represent that weird February time.  Winter break is basically represented by Single Ladies, since I heard it non-stop.  March would be Hello, Dolly!, Kelly Clarkson, and Weezer, and the remaining songs are just songs I love, yanno?  This was a surprsingly tough challenge, and it took me way longer than I thought it would.

Leave a Reply

