[get it?! the disneyland low-down?! oh I’m so funny.]

Because I know everyone is just dying to know (not) I’m working Attractions.  Meaning, in non-Disney terms, ride operator.  [How many rides does Disneyland have?  One, ‘Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride’.]  But Attractions also includes walk-throughs and shows.  In those cases it means manning the queues.  Where shall I be stationed?  Well they’ve been telling me Fantasyland and Toontown.  I found out today that I’m being trained in Toontown, whcih means I’ll be stuck there for the rest of my life.  Except during fireworks…in which case I’m directing traffic.  (As those who frequent DLR probably know, Toontown closes early due to the fireworks show I speak of.)  So my late night shifts are gonna be spent mostly with the stroller moms at the various shows going on.

Here’s some more stuff you don’t care about: Paper waste.  Oh my goodness!  First we get our hiring packet, which is chock full of information that is indeed quite useful but my oh my is there a lot of it.  And since they cover all of it about 5 times during the two full days of Orientation…I don’t see how it’s completely necessary.  Then there’s the (small) pamphlet that tells you all the info for your Traditions class (which is day one of orientation).  This I have no problems with.  It was almost my Bible this past weekend.  At Traditions we got a lovely booklet which I opened once, in order to write down my log in info for the employee mainframe thingy.  Upon later inspection (at home) I discovered pages to write down the names and numbers of friends I had made that day, a collection of quizzes about what we had learned, and a cornucopia of Walt Disney quotes.  Never once did they ask us to use our booklet.  We also got a verification of our employment, which was useful because we needed it to prove we were allowed on the property (before we got our IDs).  Today during Welcome To… we got a Disney Dictionary (I’m not kidding) and a Welcome To… Park Operations booklet.  None of our facilitators mentioned either.  One of the people who came in later to talk to us about OJT mentioned our Park Operations booklet for a hot second.  I honestly doubt anyone is going to use it.  In theory, these little handouts they give us are great.  They would be great study tools if I really thought people were going to study, OR if the facilitators paid any attention to their existence.  But, unfortunately, this is probably all going to end up in the trash.  (Not mine tho.  All my junk from anything related to my employment at the DLR will be saved forever.  Or at least a really long time.  After which it will be recycled.)  Oh and ps: Apparently this is the third edition of the Disney Dictionary.  I’d love to get my hand on a first edition tho.  Gotta go for loads of money on eBay.  (Kidding.)

So.  Traditions.  Honestly it feels like ages ago.  And honestly I don’t know how much I should say about it.  It was your basic orientation.  Sexual harrassment video, how to help people with disabilities, safety, the Disney Look, safety, the Disney Look, magical moments, safety, a tour of the park (both On and Off-Stage areas), the Disney Look.  You can see what they really care about.  (hint: it’s safety. and the Disney Look.)

Saturday was my free day, and I celebrated Father’s Day a day early by going to the Irish Festival.  The Fenians were there, and if you know anything about my childhood (which you don’t) you know that we used to see the Fenians a lot.  So it was nice.  My dad met the lead singer in the bathroom.  True story.  Also, there was a De Lorean exhibit [pardon the cell phone pictures]:

De Loreans are made in Ireland!
De Loreans are made in Ireland!
look familiar?
look familiar?
the flux capacitor says "please shield eyes from bright light" ...I think
the flux capacitor says "please shield eyes from bright light" ...I think
Mr. Fusion...for all your home energy reactor needs.
Mr. Fusion...for all your home energy reactor needs.
this is a fake fancy-tastic engine.
this is a fake fancy-tastic engine.
past? future?! tough choice.
past? future?! tough choice.
he signed it. with a shiny marky. I love you Doc.  Christopher.  Whatever.
he signed it. with a shiny marky. I love you Doc. Christopher. Whatever.

I know that none of this has to do with Disney at all.  But get over it.  This is how I spent my Saturday.  Taking pics of De Loreans, holding my mom’s beer, waiting 30 minutes in line for food, watching an Irish band (which is made of AWESOME), holding it so I didn’t have to wait in line and/or use the portable toilets, etc.

So today (Sunday) I had Welcome To… and it was cool.  We had two really great facilitators.  One was super cute and just all around adorable.  So that’s what kept me from dozing off.  Haha.  I met a couple people who were nice, but none of them are gonna be in my area so whatever.  Highlight of the day: getting to ride Buzz Lightyear’s Astro Blasters during the day and getting paid for it.  Hellz to the yea.

I’m tired and have a headache so this recap is getting cut short.  I work 36 hours this week, all day Tuesday, on Friday, Saturday, and Monday I get off at 2 or 2:30 and on Sunday I get off at 10:30.  That’s the only reason the two of you who are reading this are, in fact, reading this.  I also work the 4th of July but I don’t know what hours yet.

Have a magical day! Like omg!

2 thoughts on “The DL LD

Leave a Reply

