I’m sitting here.  In front of the computer.  With the lights off. (Not that it matters, it’s daytime…but the blinds are closed too so…?)  Listening to TANcast.  Drinking…sprite.  From a bottle, so there needs to be alcohol involved somehow.  Just paints a better picture in my mind.  Like a swig of…I dunno.  Even something ‘lame’ like Mike’s Hard Lemonade would do.  I really like Mike’s, actually.  Anyway, none of this matters.

So this blog doesn’t cover the 4 book reviews I owe you.  But I guess I’ll tell you which books I’m going to be covering! First is going to be Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  Hooray hoorah!  As most of you know, I read this as part of my list, and now I’m on to Sense and Sensibility.  Which I can’t manage to finish.  Second I think I’ll do this one random book I randomly read.  I don’t really know why, but I found it in my house.  And I read it.  It’s called Spiral Hunt (by Margaret Ronald).  Third will be Ishmael by Daniel Quinn.  I might combine that review with the fourth book’s review, because I read them back to back.  The fourth book is No Impact Man (The Adventures of a Guilty Liberal Who Attempts to Save the Planet and the Discoveries He Makes About Himself and Our Way of Life in the Process) by Colin Beavan.  Aaaand I might throw in a very brief review of a book that I’ve read about 20 bajillion times over the years, because Spiral Hunt referenced a lot of the same characters.

For now, we shall discuss Zombieland.

I normally don’t endorse anything that ever in any way, however remote, has anything to do with zombies.  Zombies are one of my greatest fears.  Irrational, yes.  But zombies scare the shit out of me.  But for whatever reason, the first time I ever heard of this movie…I just knew I had to see it.  And I am SO glad that I did.  I wasn’t scared for a second.  I was a little grossed out at times, but all in all, it was brilliant and mostly just hilarious.  There was a great cameo that I thoroughly enjoyed.  Like hella.  There was one moment where [character name] [verb] [famous person (cameo)] that I was laughing so hard I was almost crying.  I cry a lot, but rarely from laughter.  So there ya go.

The acting was pretty swell too.  Woody Harrelson was super funny, super weird, and it worked so well for him.  I don’t really know him as anything but Woody from Cheers…and this was definitely different from that.  Jesse Eisenberg was cute.  Very Michael Cera, but I forgive him.  He isn’t quite as much of a pansy as Mr. Cera.  Which is good when you have to kill zombies.  Emma Stone is my new lesbian crush.  She plays the badass really well, she’s hot, and she does a really great impression of [actress/character] from [famous movie].  (This extremely spoiler free.)  And I think I’ll always love Abigail Breslin.  She’s just too cute.

So, yea, as I accidentally told Jeremy via text last night… “Dude.  If you haven’t seen Zombieland get your ass to a movie theatre STAT.  That movie is a requirement for life.”

And now for something completely different:

5 thoughts on “I need to turn 21

Leave a Reply

