As you may know, I’ve been working on this list.  On that list is to read all of Jane Austen’s novels.  I didn’t put too much thought into the order until it was too late, but I think I should have gone in chronological order.  I’ll explain why after this review.

I started with Pride and PrejudiceP&P was Austen’s second novel.  And it is amazing.  I love the movie (I think that may be the first time I’ve confessed this to the world) but this book is so much better.  Yes, it’s less of a romance and more of a social commentary, but it’s much more interesting.

For those who don’t know, Pride and Prejudice is about Miss Elizabeth Bennet, second in a family of five daughters.  She meets a certain Mr. Darcy, who is super rich, by the way, and takes an instant disliking to him.  So, of course, conflict ensues and, also of course, they fall in love.  As it should be.  It’s much more complicated than that, really, as there are other characters who come around and end up shedding a foul light on Mr. Darcy, and Elizabeth as well.  For those who are familiar with the movie, Mr. Wickham is much worse in the novel.  So that’s fun.

As soon as I picked up this book I couldn’t put it down.  I really wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did.  It was a fairly easy read, although the style took some getting used to.  English literature and all that.  Like I said earlier, it’s not nearly as romantic as the movie.  There’s no “Mrs. Darcy.  Mrs. Darcy.  Mrs. Darcy…” nonsense.  It kinda just ends.  But it’s well worth reading, and if you know the movie ending you can just kinda assumed that happened and Austen never mentioned it.

I give Pride and Prejudice a 9 out of 10.  Fo reals.

The reason I think it would have been better to read the novels in chronological order is because Sense and Sensibility, her first novel, was not as good.  (My post about Sense and Sensibility will be up tonight, it’s already typed up but it’s a scheduled post.)  I personally think that the reason there is such a difference in quality and readability is because her writing was refined after her first novel.  From what I’ve read of Austen’s history, it seems to me that while the novels weren’t published too far from each other, but that they were written with years between them.

One thought on “Books to Devour: Pride and Prejudice

  1. You might want to read Persuasion if you liked Pride and Prejudice. I never liked any of Austen’s novels as much as those two.

Leave a Reply

