I thoroughly enjoy recalling my first impressions of people and comparing them to what I think about them now.  I don’t think I’m alone in this.  Tonight I went out with a work friend turned life friend that I love and respect.  We got our nails done and then got fish tacos.  We haven’t ever really gone out and done anything together before, just the two of us.  We talk a lot both at work and on the phone, but it was really nice to just have a girl’s night, just two gals hanging out.  No other coworkers, no men, no frenemies that we’re forced to be polite to.

It has been a long time since I’ve been out with someone that I honestly agreed with the whole night, especially when you consider the fact that we work together.  It was really lovely.  It reminded me of when Kristin and I used to hang out all the time because, yanno, we lived on the same side of the country.  Tonight made me realize how much I’ve really been craving a local friend that I feel completely comfortable around.

Yesterday I was at a bridal shower for a friend that I’m a bridesmaid for.  I didn’t feel as comfortable during that shower as I did tonight.  There are some other issues that have recently been revealed concerning that bride, involving secrets and potential drama, but I’m keeping my mouth shut for now.  I think the feeling of being left out at one of my best friend’s bridal shower is probably amplifying how I feel tonight.  Which is free.  Free to be myself.  Free to be the bitter, sassy, bitchy, liberal minded, atheist, pervert, asshole that I am.

This friend that I hung out with tonight, Megan, hired in to our workplace just over a year after me.  In my mind I referred to her as Pigtails.  She had these frizzy pigtails that she was wearing with our work hat and she looked way younger than she actually was.  One of the first times I talked to her after she was trained I was so rude (which I feel horrible about and she doesn’t even remember it) and the first time I saw her outside of work was at a coworker’s 21st birthday and Megan’s true colors were revealed.  I was shocked!  But highly entertained.  She said some wild things that night but man did she get some good laughs.

I never would have guessed that she’d be one of my favorite people to work with, and the first person I absolutely HAVE to talk to whenever anything of any interest happens.

I really needed tonight, and I’m very glad that she’s here to make nights like these happen.

Leave a Reply

